Loading... Please wait...

Our Newsletter


Prodigal Press (by Marvin Olasky)

  • Image 1
RRP:
$16.95
Your Price:
$9.95 (You save $7.00)
Shipping:
Calculated at checkout
Quantity:


Product Description

Confronting the Anti-Christian Bias of the American News Media
By Marvin Olasky and Warren Cole Smith
Paperback, 368 pp.

In the nineteenth century, leading newspapers reported from a Christian perspective. Today, however, print and TV journalists increasingly take an anti-Christian stance while claiming to be neutral. Prodigal Press uncovers the shift to secular humanism that has radically altered what the media cover and how they report it.

Issuing a clarion call for Christians to reclaim American journalism, Olasky and Smith examine the influence of worldviews on reporting, objectivity, sensationalism, and crusading; the impact of legal, ethical, and technological changes; and the changes brought about by the 24/7 news cycle, the Internet, and social media.

Commendations

"The most important book about journalism I have ever read. Prodigal Press is must-reading for all Christians and all reporters, editors, journalism professors, and students."
—Dr. Clifford Kelly, Professor of Communication Studies at Liberty University; Founding Director of the Institute of Public Affairs Journalism

"Here—in the tradition of Calvin, Edwards, and Machen—is a tough-minded call to spiritual renewal directed to the most tough-minded of our democratic institutions. The impact of this book will be likened to David's meeting Goliath, with the outcome postponed."
—Dr. Mark Fackler, Professor of Communication Ethics and African Studies, Calvin College

"At a time of declining newspaper readership and falling TV ratings, the media's discrimination against people with a Christian worldview is a form of professional suicide. In this updated version of his 1988 book, Marvin Olasky gives new examples of anti-Christian bias, which ought to motivate more Christian young people to consider careers in journalism instead of cursing the growing darkness made worse by the absence of their 'light.' "
—Cal Thomas, America's #1 nationally syndicated columnist

"I loved Prodigal Press when it was first published. As someone who became a Christian while working as a journalist, it really helped crystallize things for me. It's important and strategic to have this book updated and expanded for a new generation."
—Lee Strobel, Former Legal Editor of the Chicago Tribune and Author of The Case for Christ

"The 25th anniversary edition of Prodigal Press is a book that I wish every American would read. Olasky and Smith, veteran journalists themselves, provide an honest and thorough critique of their trade. Well argued and meticulously footnoted, the original edition was a landmark of expose and insight. This edition—showing what American journalism was, has become, and could be—is needed now more than ever."
—Alex McFarland, Director for Christian Worldview and Apologetics, North Greenville University

About the Authors
Marvin Olasky (Ph.D., University of Michigan) is editor-in-chief of WORLD magazine and holds the Distinguished Chair in Journalism and Public Policy at Patrick Henry College. Olasky studied at Yale University and is the author of more than 20 books—Philanthropy magazine called his book The Tragedy of American Compassion one of "eight books that changed America."

Warren Cole Smith is associate publisher of WORLD magazine and publisher and editor of WORLD news service. His essays, reviews, interviews, and articles have also been included in various books, including Public Relations, one of the world's most widely used college journalism textbooks.


Find Similar Products by Category


Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!


Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Prodigal Press (by Marvin Olasky) to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...